Vancouver School of Theology Library

Onsite Library will be closed Monday, May 20 - Victoria Day 

Onsite Library will be closed for two weeks in August: Monday, August 5 until Monday, August 19. 

• Search for books, books, ebooks, journal titles owned VST and St. Mark's libraries as well as those around the world. You can also self-renew your books, check the status of your loans and set/reset your password. This library catalog is shared with St. Mark's Library and their holding information will appear first.
• Video Tutorial: Search techniques in WorldCat Discovery
• For the books and journal articles not owned by UBC campus libraries (UBC, VST, St. Mark's & Regent), you can request UBC Library Inter Library Loan (ILL) Service. You will need to pick up your requested books(s) at Koerner Library. For journal articles, you will receive them as email attachment. 
• Other Sources: Internet Archive (IA) offers access to millions digitalized books. you will need a free IA account to read IA eBooks
• VST Students and Faculty: We can scan up to 20% of a book or a chapter and send to you as email attachment. It usually takes up to 3 business days
• We also welcome your library book purchase suggestions

• Access is limited to current VST student, faculty and staff due to vendor restrictions. If you can not access while being a current student, please contact library staff 
• VST alum need to use this link to access Atlas database
• Multilingual Atla Research Tools Online Tutorials offers helpful information on how to use this database

• A-Z Databases - over 40 curated UBC databases on theology and religious studies available to VST library users through UBC libraries. Requires UBC CWL credentials for VST current students and UBC library card number for VST faculty and staff. You need an active  CWL as a UBC affiliated institution student. In case you need help with your CWL,  consult How to Create Campus Wide Login (CWL).pdf on Populi,

• VST Library
  • EBSCO Publication Finder for journals provided by Atlas Religion Database through EBSCO
  • A to Z Journal titles search to access about 2,000 EBSCO as well as Open-Source journals
• UBC Library
  • Journal Titles Search

When you have VST/UBC electronic resources (eBooks, databases and eJournals), first try to following steps.

• Clear cache and cookies in your browser, close and restart your browser
• Try different browser, e.g. if you are using Microsoft Edge or Internet Explorer, use Chrome insteadUpdate your browser and operating system
• Use incognito window
• Check your firewall and/or security settings on your device
• Check other websites or online resources like Atlas database to see if they are working. Your ISP (Internet Service Provider, including Telus, Shaw, etc.) interruption might affects your access to library online resources
• If you see an eBook is offered by more than one vendors (both EBSCO and ProQuest), try the other link.
• Try to access the resource  a few hours later
• If trying the steps listed above does not solve your connectivity issue, fill out VST library electronic resources troubleshooting request form.

UBC library electronic resources requires a working UBC CWL credentials. In case your UBC CWL is not working for UBC library electronic resources access, first refer to How to Create CWL and Link Your Compass Card.pdf on this Populi page.

When you contact VST library staff for troubleshooting, including specific URL (webpage address) of the resource that you are trying to access, system error message and screen capture (if possible) really help us to diagnose the issue.

1. Acquire library card(s)

   1. VST library card -  to access VST eBooks, Atlas Religion database (for journal article search), and check out print books.

      1. Local students

         1. Apply for a library card at the library service desk to get a physical library card. Please produce your photo ID to verify your identity. Your VST card also works at St. Mark’s College Library

      2. Distance students who will access online resources only

         1. Email (circ@vst.edu) us your request for a library card number.

   2. Additional borrowing privileges

      1. You can also get a library card from Regent College Library, Trinity Western University Library, Simon Fraser University Library as well as libraries participating in Atla Reciprocal Borrowing Program in Canada and the States for print books.

2. Familiarize yourself with VST library catalog and Atla Religion database searching.

3. Familiarize yourself with UBC library resources

   1. For electronic resources, activate your UBC CWL (Campus Wide Login) for access

   2. Install Lean Library extension to your web browser for a streamlined access to UBC online eBooks and databases 

   3. For print books, your UBC student card is your UBC library card

4. Learn or refresh your knowledge of VST’s standard citation styles, Chicago Notes-Bibliography style in general and SBL (Society of Biblical Studies) for Biblical courses and/or Biblical resources. Refer to the “Citation Resources” section on your left for more information.

5. Register for non-credit mandatory Research Module sessions depending on your program. Refer to the “Research Modules” section on your left for more information.

Need help with your library research?, please feel free to contact library staff at any time.